Wave Music Home
ReleasesCommunityYour OrderWave Music
ArtistsEventsDJ MixesShop

Wave Music Home


Home
About Us
Labels
Distributed Labels
Links




Search


Adv. Search



Subscribe


Email






Go Back   Wave Music Community Board > Tech Talk for Gearheads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 10 votes, 4.80 average. Display Modes
  #676  
Old 02-29-2008, 06:50 AM
CJ Branda CJ Branda is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brittany, France
Posts: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by djchris73
That's not a night club install. That's DJ Cary's home.
My bad Chris, didn't realise you were talking about club set ups! Still looks like a nice mixer though, but I've never had the chance to compare it's sound to the Rane.

CJ Branda.
Reply With Quote
  #677  
Old 02-29-2008, 06:52 AM
Atarien Atarien is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 18
Here's my new setup. It's an old piece of furniture i've modded to receive my decks. The records shelves are home made.




Reply With Quote
  #678  
Old 03-01-2008, 12:49 PM
davidcharles davidcharles is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 15
nice one atarien you got the same mixer as me.

do you love it as much as I do?

Reply With Quote
  #679  
Old 03-01-2008, 07:24 PM
djchris73 djchris73 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Montebello, California
Posts: 210
Send a message via Yahoo to djchris73
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ Branda
My bad Chris, didn't realise you were talking about club set ups! Still looks like a nice mixer though, but I've never had the chance to compare it's sound to the Rane.

CJ Branda.

No problem, mon ami. I haven't had a chance to compare the two either. But I'm very happy with my Rane MP 2016A's performance.

My friend, djjohnk, has heard the Crest Rotary mixers and was not that impressed. That's his opinion of course, but I've worked with him before and will continue to work with him in the future and I respect his opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #680  
Old 03-03-2008, 02:26 PM
joeydj4u joeydj4u is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jersey/ Penn
Posts: 109
After moving twice in the past two years I finally got everything back together now I could relax and play again

Last edited by joeydj4u : 12-17-2008 at 03:57 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #681  
Old 03-03-2008, 02:59 PM
charles0322 charles0322 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 696
Send a message via AIM to charles0322
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeydj4u
After moving twice in the past two years I finally got everything back together now I could relax and play again

Really nice set-up! Is that a Presonus piece to the right of the DJR0-400?
Reply With Quote
  #682  
Old 03-03-2008, 03:06 PM
Mistick Krewe Mistick Krewe is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: hoodoo audio heaven
Posts: 1,404
looks to be a redsound cycloops...
Reply With Quote
  #683  
Old 03-03-2008, 03:47 PM
mynameismatt's Avatar
mynameismatt mynameismatt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 572
Yea... another Masterlink user!
Reply With Quote
  #684  
Old 03-03-2008, 09:14 PM
joeydj4u joeydj4u is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jersey/ Penn
Posts: 109
Why yes, it is a red sound cycloops sampler and masterlink. The sad thing about the masterlink is that I can't figure out how to use it I'm not doing to well with there manual. Unfortunately i'm not the kind of person that likes to sit and read manuals If anyone has experience with these units please feel free in helping a lazy person out

How do I record a live set?
Set track markers after I'm done recording?
Burn the final product?

Yes, i've had this for quite some time and have yet to figure this out
Shame on me
I had a Lexicon JamMan in there for awhile but prefer using the cycloops running through E&S's send and returns per channel. As a matter of fact I llke it so much, That the JamMan is on Fleabay as I write this...

I must say after having a Rane MP 2016 version 1 and a Urei Le in that console, I will never look back! I'm as happy as a pig in shit with the E&S.
I will never buy another mixer..
Reply With Quote
  #685  
Old 03-03-2008, 10:05 PM
mynameismatt's Avatar
mynameismatt mynameismatt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 572
You should really read the manual. Also might want to check the Alesis site to see if your firmware is up to date, not needed but wouldn't hurt.

This should get you started:

1. Make sure you're in HD mode (button on the top right)
2. Set your sample rate, input source, word length or leave them as is
**use redbook, 44.1, 16 bit if you want to put seamless track markers in**
3. click playlist select
4. click the up or down buttons and find one that has zero tracks
5. click playlist edit
6. click new track
7. click record
8. set your levels
9. click play
10. when finished click stop

From here you can record a 1 track CD.
1. insert blank cd
2. click create cd
3. will ask some questions, yes to them (yes is same as the up key)

For a CD with track markers, the easy way:
1. Play your track you just recorded (the one on the masterlink's Hard Drive not the cd)
2. Using the scan buttons go to where you want the split and click pause
3. At the same time click these buttons: playlist edit & new track
4. it will ask you to confirm split, click yes
5. continue this for the rest of the recording/mix
6. insert blank cd
7. click create cd
8. will ask some questions, yes to them (yes is same as the up key)

Last edited by mynameismatt : 03-03-2008 at 10:08 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #686  
Old 03-04-2008, 06:18 PM
joeydj4u joeydj4u is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jersey/ Penn
Posts: 109
Much props to you my man Matt that's all I needed for now, thanks for your help. A friend offered a program called sound forge, he said its very good for recording so im gonna do a little research He told me I should sell the masterlink and just record straight to my computer, what do you guys think

Last edited by joeydj4u : 03-04-2008 at 06:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #687  
Old 03-04-2008, 06:59 PM
mynameismatt's Avatar
mynameismatt mynameismatt is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 572
Yes, in 2008 a decent computer with a decent sound card is the way to go.

Masterlink is still good if you don't want to mess with the whole computer part.
Reply With Quote
  #688  
Old 03-11-2008, 09:09 PM
soundmanshorty soundmanshorty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 1,421
Ill post a few of my current Pt1

of my setup, then it will be redone shortly, with my new SBS TAD speaker system. Pics Courtesy of Ed Campbell
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	me 2.jpg
Views:	652
Size:	47.9 KB
ID:	1795  Click image for larger version

Name:	me 3.jpg
Views:	690
Size:	42.9 KB
ID:	1796  Click image for larger version

Name:	stacks.jpg
Views:	563
Size:	42.5 KB
ID:	1797  Click image for larger version

Name:	console side shot.jpg
Views:	534
Size:	55.4 KB
ID:	1798  

Last edited by soundmanshorty : 03-11-2008 at 09:32 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #689  
Old 03-11-2008, 09:13 PM
soundmanshorty soundmanshorty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 1,421
Pt2

current setup

If you look close in the backround of pic 4, you will see 2 large Photos, this was the Booth at the Garage, i got them from Richard Longs office where they used to be displayed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rack1.jpg
Views:	397
Size:	63.1 KB
ID:	1799  Click image for larger version

Name:	rack dark.jpg
Views:	240
Size:	14.2 KB
ID:	1800  Click image for larger version

Name:	rack dark 2.jpg
Views:	175
Size:	13.2 KB
ID:	1801  Click image for larger version

Name:	rack dark 3.jpg
Views:	230
Size:	13.7 KB
ID:	1802  Click image for larger version

Name:	me 4.jpg
Views:	450
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	1803  


Last edited by soundmanshorty : 03-11-2008 at 09:27 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #690  
Old 03-11-2008, 09:16 PM
soundmanshorty soundmanshorty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 1,421
pt 3

of current setup
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	me dark.jpg
Views:	270
Size:	23.5 KB
ID:	1804  Click image for larger version

Name:	me dark 2.jpg
Views:	250
Size:	26.2 KB
ID:	1805  Click image for larger version

Name:	xover shot.jpg
Views:	284
Size:	33.9 KB
ID:	1806  Click image for larger version

Name:	me console record.jpg
Views:	517
Size:	39.4 KB
ID:	1807  Click image for larger version

Name:	xover 2.jpg
Views:	440
Size:	38.9 KB
ID:	1808  

Reply With Quote
  #691  
Old 03-11-2008, 09:23 PM
soundmanshorty soundmanshorty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 1,421
pt 4

This is pics of my current setup where i test all my SBS & Thrive Audio prototype gear before we make our final decision & it is implemented in the field.

With my new SBS system, The SBS SBH 1.18 bottoms will stay, but all the old vintage VOTT A7s, 2395s, 077, 075s will go.

In my rack, the electronics will change aswell, the vintage Crown MX4 xovers and Urei 539 eqs will go, The Vintage procesing doesnt work with todays products like i need them to.

My new system will have SBS Modified Bryston xovers, and No room eq. The Bad Neighbor and Thrive Audio Program 5 way eq will be all the processing i will need for my new SBS - TAD Loaded system.

www.systemsbyshorty.com

www.myspace.com/soundmanshorty
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	reel to reel.jpg
Views:	397
Size:	38.0 KB
ID:	1811  Click image for larger version

Name:	me dark 3.jpg
Views:	363
Size:	40.0 KB
ID:	1812  

Last edited by soundmanshorty : 03-11-2008 at 11:51 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #692  
Old 03-14-2008, 11:13 AM
calle calle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 70
Hi,
finally managed to take some photos (unfortunately only with my moble phone),
from two recent parties I played.

Equipment:
Apple MacBook with Traktor 3.3
Faderfox DX2 Midi Controller
Miglia Harmony Audio D/A
ESI Midi Mate MIDI Interface
Ecler SCLAT 200VS Mixer
Rane ME15S Equalizer
Electro Voice AC ONE Crossover / Processor
Electro Voice SB-121 Subwoofer Cabinets
RCF ART 310 Top Cabinets
Audio Technica ATH-7 or Sennheiser PX-100 Headphones
LabGruppen fP 2400Q Amplifier

/Calle
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	360
Size:	95.8 KB
ID:	1818  Click image for larger version

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	271
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	1819  Click image for larger version

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	296
Size:	99.1 KB
ID:	1820  Click image for larger version

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	187
Size:	75.1 KB
ID:	1821  Click image for larger version

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	256
Size:	80.4 KB
ID:	1822  


Last edited by calle : 03-14-2008 at 11:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #693  
Old 03-14-2008, 11:15 AM
calle calle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 70
A few more pictures

/Calle
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6.jpg
Views:	459
Size:	83.1 KB
ID:	1826  Click image for larger version

Name:	7.jpg
Views:	312
Size:	76.4 KB
ID:	1827  Click image for larger version

Name:	8.jpg
Views:	283
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	1828  
Reply With Quote
  #694  
Old 03-14-2008, 01:56 PM
T. Tauri T. Tauri is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 260
Calle,

How do you like the DX2? I've been thinking of getting one for when my usual controller is too big.

Peece,
T. Tauri
Reply With Quote
  #695  
Old 03-14-2008, 05:59 PM
calle calle is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 70
Hi T. Tauri,
I find the DX2 very nice if you need a small high quality controller. The buttons are small but well functioning. The only thing I miss are two small jogwheels to nudge the track as Im not used to the buttons la Denon CD, but Im learning to use + and - buttons instead of jogwheels.

/Calle
Reply With Quote
  #696  
Old 03-15-2008, 02:00 AM
boogieman boogieman is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 73
bullet arrays

hi all, check it, here's one of my bullet arrays, I flew a couple over the dancefloor at a reasonably large gig i did sound and light for last week down here in Melbourne, Australia...

We were running a 2016a with expander, 4 x 18" horn loaded subs and 4 x mid highs surrounding the floor, then 2 x flown arrays high-passed at 7kHz. All slopes were 18db butterworth, with the bullets powered by a BGW 250D, the system really sounded great and performed effortlessly on the night


Last edited by boogieman : 03-15-2008 at 03:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #697  
Old 03-16-2008, 12:59 AM
DUNE493's Avatar
DUNE493 DUNE493 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundmanshorty
of my setup, then it will be redone shortly, with my new SBS TAD speaker system. Pics Courtesy of Ed Campbell
WOW....Great set up shorty.Whats up with the ALTEC SPEAKERS what did you change on it?
Reply With Quote
  #698  
Old 03-16-2008, 03:31 AM
soundmanshorty soundmanshorty is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Posts: 1,421
I didnt

Quote:
Originally Posted by DUNE493
WOW....Great set up shorty.Whats up with the ALTEC SPEAKERS what did you change on it?

Change anyhing on the A7s, I am Keeping my basshorms & replacing the A7s, lens horns, & jbl tweeters for a custom TAD loaded SBS Designed speaker system, The A7s i will retire for my home theatre system. I will post new pics soon when im done with the upgrades for Lotus in Hawaii

Last edited by soundmanshorty : 03-16-2008 at 03:53 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #699  
Old 03-17-2008, 09:14 AM
DUNE493's Avatar
DUNE493 DUNE493 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by soundmanshorty
Change anyhing on the A7s, I am Keeping my basshorms & replacing the A7s, lens horns, & jbl tweeters for a custom TAD loaded SBS Designed speaker system, The A7s i will retire for my home theatre system. I will post new pics soon when im done with the upgrades for Lotus in Hawaii
I cant wait to see. Check this cat out he made some A7'S http://www.mfk-projects.com/vintage_altec.htm
Reply With Quote
  #700  
Old 04-04-2008, 10:07 AM
CJ Branda CJ Branda is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brittany, France
Posts: 233
Finally managed to finish my set up by making a front cover to hide the cables - not really a console but it works for me :







Peace,

CJ Branda.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.0.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2006 Wave Music


© Wave Entertainment Group, Inc.