Wave Music Home
ReleasesCommunityYour OrderWave Music
ArtistsEventsDJ MixesShop

Wave Music Home


Home
About Us
Labels
Distributed Labels
Links




Search


Adv. Search



Subscribe


Email






Go Back   Wave Music Community Board > Tech Talk for Gearheads

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2012, 08:27 PM
T. Tauri T. Tauri is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 260
DJR-400 aux sends...

Are they pre- or post-fader?

Thanks,
T. Tauri
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-29-2012, 07:11 PM
Richi Richi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 545
Post,

Why do you ask?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-30-2012, 11:06 AM
R_Dub R_Dub is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 116
could the aux send be used to record?
if i was to use an rca splitter. one end going to recording devise,
other end gong back to return (to complete the loop)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-31-2012, 03:53 AM
T. Tauri T. Tauri is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richi
Post,

Why do you ask?

Thinking about a new mixer, and how the sends function is important. Wanted to make sure the DJR's work like I assumed (they do).

Peece,
T. Tauri
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-01-2013, 06:58 AM
Richi Richi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 545
Quote:
Originally Posted by R_Dub
could the aux send be used to record?
if i was to use an rca splitter. one end going to recording devise,
other end gong back to return (to complete the loop)

Do you have sends per channel?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-01-2013, 09:55 AM
R_Dub R_Dub is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 116
no sends per channel.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-02-2013, 06:58 AM
Richi Richi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 545
You could use that method, or split the master which would be my preference.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-2013, 04:46 AM
Toni Cogin Toni Cogin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 26
Or use the booth output... Either solely for recording (if you aren't using two separat systems) or split.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-2013, 12:35 PM
R_Dub R_Dub is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 116
using the booth to control the booth speakers - not an option for splitting, i constantly turn up and down the booth. I use the master RCAs now but the problem is that the master gradually gets turned up as the night progresses (as the crowd gets bigger). so I'd like something PRE master. Richi - why do you prefer master? better sound quality? if not then it seems the effect loop out would be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2013, 06:39 PM
Richi Richi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 545
I use the masters balanced outputs to run to the mains this gives 6dB greater signal and the ability to drive long cable lengths. The un-balanced outputs can then be used for recording, i will usually have another attenuator post the outputs so i can control level independently to the recording device.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-04-2013, 04:58 AM
Toni Cogin Toni Cogin is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by R_Dub
using the booth to control the booth speakers - not an option for splitting, i constantly turn up and down the booth. I use the master RCAs now but the problem is that the master gradually gets turned up as the night progresses (as the crowd gets bigger). so I'd like something PRE master. Richi - why do you prefer master? better sound quality? if not then it seems the effect loop out would be fine.

I figured the master volume would change over time during the night, that's why I suggested the booth output. If you're changing the booth volume a lot this won't work either, of course.

As you think of using the efx loop for recording I figure you aren't using it for its original purpose. Have you tried contacting Jerome if the efx loop could be replaced with a rec out?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-04-2013, 05:28 AM
bossa nolyx bossa nolyx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 211
2x


+

1x



would work.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-04-2013, 11:30 AM
T. Tauri T. Tauri is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossa nolyx
2x [cable splitters]

+

1x [Nanopatch]

would work.


...Though still wouldn't deal with R_Dub's preference for avoiding the volume changes from the booth and master outs.

That said, I've recorded mixes after the master volume, and one can always import the file to a DAW to correct for that after the fact too.

Peece,
T. Tauri
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-04-2013, 02:10 PM
bossa nolyx bossa nolyx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by T. Tauri
...Though still wouldn't deal with R_Dub's preference for avoiding the volume changes from the booth and master outs.
Why not?


Connect an y-cable to the booth output. One end goes directly into your recording device, the other is connected via nano patch to your monitors. Then you turn the booth output to full gain (or what ever your recording device needs) and then you use only(!) the nano patch to control your monitor volume. Master volume is unaffected, of course.


Will work, I did so very often. E.g. when I need to insert an isolator in a club with a mixer without insert loop connectors. Can do the same thing with balanced master output. What ever you want. The nano patch can handle balanced and unbalanced signals.

Last edited by bossa nolyx : 01-04-2013 at 02:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-04-2013, 03:20 PM
T. Tauri T. Tauri is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossa nolyx
Why not?

You're right. My bad.

I was thinking of the nanopatch as an attenuator for the rec signal instead of the monitor...

Peece,
T. Tauri
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-09-2013, 11:31 PM
R_Dub R_Dub is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 116
good idea on the nano patch. 59.00 on ebay.
before going that route i think i'll try splitting the
loop out method. (seeing how i already have 2 to 1 RCAs it's free )
i dont use an EFX unit anyway so master loop isn't being used.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-14-2013, 04:25 PM
Ross H Ross H is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 82
So to confirm, the nano patch dial would be used to control the booth's monitor and the booth dial on the mixer will be used to control the recording levels?

Does it affect the recording quality of the audio at all?

Thanks again for this tip...appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-14-2013, 04:27 PM
Ross H Ross H is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richi
Do you have sends per channel?

Hi Richi,

I have sends per channel. Is there something this would help when recording?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-15-2013, 02:27 AM
bossa nolyx bossa nolyx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross H
So to confirm, the nano patch dial would be used to control the booth's monitor and the booth dial on the mixer will be used to control the recording levels?

Does it affect the recording quality of the audio at all?

Thanks again for this tip...appreciated.
Yes, that's it.


The recording quality is not affected. You may only slightly increase the noise level on your booth monitor because of the lower output signal. This is what every volume control does.




Don't forget to use the correct ports. The image of the RCA cord is only intended as an example of a Y-cable.

Last edited by bossa nolyx : 02-15-2013 at 02:30 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-16-2013, 11:51 AM
Ross H Ross H is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossa nolyx
Yes, that's it.


The recording quality is not affected. You may only slightly increase the noise level on your booth monitor because of the lower output signal. This is what every volume control does.




Don't forget to use the correct ports. The image of the RCA cord is only intended as an example of a Y-cable.

Many thanks for the advice
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 06-05-2013, 05:52 PM
Ross H Ross H is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossa nolyx
Yes, that's it.


The recording quality is not affected. You may only slightly increase the noise level on your booth monitor because of the lower output signal. This is what every volume control does.




Don't forget to use the correct ports. The image of the RCA cord is only intended as an example of a Y-cable.

Hi can you advise what cables you use to make this work?

I have just bought the nano patch and I am currently struggling to work out how to connect the monitor (i have a krk rockit) to the nano patch as both the rockit and nano patch need a male connection to connect. I'm guessing a male to male xlr cable would work or jack to jack cable. Does this sound right?

Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 06-05-2013, 08:38 PM
Richi Richi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 545
Ross,

DJR400 XLR Booth Output -----> XLR Nano Patch Input
Nano Out, TRS Jacks, ------> XLR Rockit

Take your Nano to Maplins, and grab yourself some of the below and an assortment of different adaptors(Gig savers for the DJ), the staff there are usually knowelable and will help you out.



The above cable would work from the Nano Output, 2 x of these from the Nano to your rockit
http://www.maplin.co.uk/van-damme-black-microphone-cable-nc3mx-np3x-xlr-jack-511395

If you have XLR Cables already and you need adapters these kind should work
http://www.maplin.co.uk/1-4-stereo-plug-to-xlr-plug-43165




Last edited by Richi : 06-06-2013 at 07:58 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 06-06-2013, 06:53 AM
Ross H Ross H is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 82
Thanks Richi,

that is exactly what I just bought. i already bought the xlr to jack cable but needed the xlr (with pins) to 1/4" jack adaptors this morning.

Cheers again

Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 06-06-2013, 07:28 AM
bossa nolyx bossa nolyx is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 211
If you want to use a balanced signal transmission, then you should never take a TS plug


but a TRS plug



With a TS plug you connect the phase-shifted signal to ground and cause a short circuit. This can (but not has to) damage the output of your device, depending on its circuit. If you don't definitly know how the output is designed, ALLWAYS take a connector with 3 pins for balanced outputs!


If the nano patch input is connected unbalanced output of another device, then it does not matter and you can also take a TS plug.

Last edited by bossa nolyx : 06-06-2013 at 07:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 06-06-2013, 08:27 AM
Richi Richi is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 545
Bosa is correct, for balanced you need TRS, i did put TRS into my response though showed images for the TS connectors. I have amended my post to show the TRS Images as well.

Unbalancing the connectors usually opens up the system for greater noise and potential ground issues.

Good Resource on Balanced connections from Rane.
http://www.rane.com/note110.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin Version 3.0.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
2006 Wave Music


© Wave Entertainment Group, Inc.