Adv. Search

Subscribe

Email

Go Back   Wave Music Community Board > Tech Talk for Gearheads

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-21-2013, 07:18 AM

recording setup assistance

Hi Forum,

Sorry, I've been a member for years, never contribute and come around begging for help...

So, I'm a complete novice, I've got a new iMac, and Apogee Duet and a Bozak CMA 10-2-DL. I'd like to record mixes but also listen to records when the computer is turned off.

How do I wire it all up, repeated pissing around whilst not reading the manual is getting me nowhere...

Do I need to use both outputs on the mixer ((xlr/phono?) one to my amp and one to the duet), and if so which to which?

On the breakout cable for the duet, which is "in" and which is "out"?

Before getting the computer I was using the phono outputs on the mixer straight to my amp to listen to records.

As I said, new to mac, new to duet.

Helplessly yours....

PS I appreciate anyone telling me to read the manual ;-)
Old 03-21-2013, 10:18 AM

Send a message via AIM to charles0322
Pretty good gear for a novice

as for recording to or playback from the puter, it will have to be on

you can play records fine without the computer on

as for the output / input routing.. I dont have that much experience with that mixer.. is there a booth output? (cant remember on this model)

what tape outputs do you have on the mixer?

I would connect booth out or tape out to Apogee..

and then house out to AMP
Old 03-21-2013, 10:22 AM

the setup is really straight forward.. once you install and plug the apogee via mac with drivers go into your system preferences in your apple menu top right.. go into sound and choose apogee duet..

test it through the headphone jack to make sure you have playback..

then connect the cables to and from the mixer..

what program where you thinking about using for recording?
Old 03-21-2013, 11:11 AM

Thanks for taking the time to reply.